Nathan Aweau

Guitar & ‘Ukulele Masters

Nathan Aweau

Nathan Aweau

Vocals, bass, guitar

“Nathan is that distinguished rarity…A jack of all trades, master of an expansive domain.” – Honolulu Advertiser

“Nathan… on electric bass and acoustic guitar, shows an… advanced understanding of harmony and orchestration …his singing style is effortless”. –The New York Times

Winner of 9 Na Hoku (Hawai‘i’s “Grammy”), Nathan Aweau won Male Vocalist of the Year an unprecented 3 times, the only artist to have achieved this. Nathan Aweau is not only known for his beautiful vocals, but also for his musical prowess, particularly on the bass guitar, his favorite instrument (his Bass Etude album won Jazz Album of the Year honors in 2005). Often described as a musician’s musician with an in-depth understanding of orchestration, Aweau is proficient on piano, guitar, ‘ukulele, saxophone, percussion, and bass. He also writes, records, engineers, and produces all his own material. Much sought-after, he has performed with numerous musicians, was a member of the award-winning groups Ka’eo, the Ali’i’s, and HAPA, and played with the legendary Don Ho for 16 years.

His exquisite vocals earned him his first Na Hoku “Male Vocalist” award for his debut CD and helped propel Hapa’s CD “Maui” to the Top 10 on Billboard’s World Music chart and three Na Hoku Hanohano Awards (Hawai‘i’s “Grammy”). Traditional Hawaiian music features “leo ki’eki’e” (male falsetto singing), “where the men kinda go up and sound like women,” says Nathan, giving him a multi-octave range. For his 6 solo CDs to date, Aweau wrote and arranged every song, sang all vocals (including background), played every instrument, and recorded, engineered, mixed, and mastered it at his In My Bathroom Studios.

Aweau, who was classically trained, has run the gamut of styles, playing in jazz, funk, country and even metal bands, as well as Hawaiian ensembles. “So long as it was good music, I was always there,” he says.

 

Tour Schedule

2020

With Masters of Hawaiian Music – George Kahumoku Jr & Jeff Peterson

Fri, Mar 6, 2020, Matthews Opera House & Arts Center, Spearfish SD
with George Kahumoku Jr
7:30 PM
http://www.matthewsopera.com/mastersofhawaiianmusic/

Sat, Mar 21, 2020, Edmonds Center for the Arts, Edmonds WA
7:30 PM
https://www.edmondscenterforthearts.org/events/detail/191/eca-presents-masters-of-hawaiian-music-with-george-kahumoku-jr.-nathan-aweau-andamp%3B-jeff-peterson/946

Sun, Mar 22, 2020, Montalvo Arts Center, Saratoga CA
7:00 PM
http://montalvoarts.org/events/hawaiian_2020/

Past Tours Dates

Spring 2019 – With Masters of Hawaiian Music: George Kahumoku Jr, Nathan Aweau  & Kawika Kahiapo

Tues, Feb 7, 2019, Dakota Jazz Club & Restaurant, Minneapolis MN

Sat, Feb 9, 2019, Old Town School of Music, Chicago IL

Wed, Feb 13, 2019, Cutting Room, New York NY

Fri, Feb 15, 2019, Club Passim, Cambridge MA

Sat & Sun, Feb 16 & 17, 2019, Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts, Vienna VA

Thurs, Feb 21, 2019, Bing Crosby Theater, Spokane WA

Fri & Sat, Feb 22 & 23, 2019, The Triple Door, Seattle WA

Tues, Feb 26, 2019, Lincoln Theatre, Mt Vernon WA

Wed, Feb 27, 2019, Alberta Rose Theatre, Portland OR

Thurs, Feb 28, 2019, The Egyptian Theatre, Boise ID

Sun, March 3, 2019, Humboldt State University – Center Arts, Arcata CA

Tues, March 5, 2019, Freight and Salvage Coffeehouse, Berkeley CA

Wed, March 6, 2019, Harris Center for the Arts, Folsom CA

Thurs, March 7, 2019, Blue Note Napa, Napa CA

Fri, March 8, 2019, Oshman Family Jewish Community Center, Palo Alto CA

Sun, March 10, 2019, Rio Theatre, Santa Cruz CA

Fri, March 15, 2019, California Center for the Arts, Escondido CA

Sat, March 16, 2019, Whittier College, Whittier CA

Thurs, March 21, 2019, Musical Instrument Museum, Phoenix AZ

Fri, March 22, 2019, South Broadway Cultural Center, Albuquerque NM

Sat, March 23, 2019, Daniels Hall, Denver CO

Sun, March 24, 2019, The Guitar Sanctuary, McKinney TX

Fri & Sat, March 29 & 30, 2019, The Smith Center for the Performing Arts, Las Vegas NV

Nathan Bass Solo

Kaimana Hila

Mahinahina

Ku’u Lei Awapuhi/Hawai’i Aloha/Wahine ‘Ilikea

AWARD-WINNING PERFORMERS FROM HAWAI’I AND THE PACIFIC