Keola Beamer

Guitar & ‘Ukulele Masters

Keola Beamer

Photos: Mark Modeen

Keola Beamer
with Moanalani Beamer

“Keola Beamer’s style is the best there is on the planet…There’s no better slack key player than Beamer” – Willie Nelson

“The Quintessential Hawaiian Slack-Key Guitar Master” –The New York Times

“Keola Beamer is the Andres Segovia of the slack key guitar.” – Long Beach Press Telegram

Keola Beamer is a Hawaiian music legend. Having grown up in one of Hawai’i’s most famous music families, he has become one of Hawai’i’s premier singer-songwriters, arrangers, composers and masters of Hawaiian slack key guitar.

A multiple Nā Hōkū Hanohano Award Winner (Hawaiian Music Awards) and Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient and a Grammy nominee, Keola established himself early as a leader in contemporary Hawaiian music with Honolulu City Lights, one of the all-time best-selling records in Hawaiian music history. Keola Beamer was awarded the prestigious NACF Artist Fellowship in 2014 by the Native Arts & Cultures Foundation.

For over thirty years, his artistry has helped breathe new life into slack key guitar music while remaining true to the soul of its deeply Hawaiian roots. His breadth of talent springs from five generations of family musical history that traces its involvement in Hawaiian music and hula at least as far as back as the 15th Century; his mother a key figure in the “Hawaiian Renaissance” of the 1960s. Among multiple TV and film credits, his music was featured on the soundtrack for the film The Descendants.

Keola was one of the first to use slack key techniques to create contemporary music that is as much at home in jazz or classical forums as in Hawaiian music. And he was one of the first to integrate Hawaiian chants and instruments, like the tiny gourd whistle and the nose flute, with contemporary forms of music. His wife Moanalani Beamer joins him in performing hula as well as chants and traditional Hawaiian instruments.

 

 

Tour Schedule

Keola Beamer with Moanalani Beamer performing with Henry Kapono & Friends

Sat, Sept 15, 2018, Waikiki Shell, Honolulu HI
6:30 PM
http://www.ticketmaster.com

Sun, Sept 16, 2018, Maui Arts & Cultural Center, Kahului HI
5:00 PM
http://www.mauiarts.org

Keola Beamer & Jeff Peterson with Moanalani Beamer

Mon, Oct 8, 2018, The Hult Center for the Performing Arts, Eugene OR
Arts Northwest Juried Showcase – Arts NW Attendees Only

Tues, Oct 9, 2018, Alberta Rose Theatre, Portland OR
8:00 PM
http://albertarosetheatre.com

Sun, Oct 14, 2018, Columbia City Theater, Seattle WA
Presented by Brown Rock LLC
2 Shows – 4 PM and 7 PM
https://www.ticketfly.com/purchase/event/1764374

Thurs, Oct 18, 2018, Harris Center for the Arts, Folsom CA
7:30 PM
http://www.harriscenter.net

Sat, Oct 20, 2018, The Old Steeple, Ferndale CA
Presented by Ferndale Music Company
7:30 PM
http://www.ferndalemusiccompany.com

Sun, Oct 21, 2018, Blue Note Napa, Napa CA
6:00 PM
http://www.bluenotenapa.com

Wed, Oct 24, 2018, Musical Instrument Museum, Phoenix AZ
7:00 PM
http://www.themim.org

Fri, Oct 26, 2018, Daniels Hall, Denver CO
Presented by Swallow Hill Music
8:00 PM
http://www.swallowhillmusic.org

 

 

Past Tour Dates

2018 – Legends: Keola Beamer and Henry Kapono

Thurs, Jan 11, 2018, The John G Shedd Institute, Eugene OR

Fri, Jan 12, 2018, The Triple Door, Seattle WA

Sat, Jan 13, 2018, Aladdin Theater, Portland OR

Sat, Jan 20, 2018, The Smith Center for the Performing Arts, Las Vegas NV

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, Daniels Hall, Denver CO

Mon, Jan 22, 2018, Musical Instrument Museum, Phoenix AZ

Wed, Jan 24, 2018, Freight and Salvage Coffeehouse, Berkeley CA

Thurs, Jan 25, 2018, Harris Center for the Arts, Folsom CA

Fri, Jan 26, 2018, Blue Note Napa, Napa CA

Sat, Jan 27, 2018, Montalvo Arts Center, Saratoga CA

Sun, Jan 28, 2018, Cal Poly Arts, San Luis Obispo CA

Thurs, Feb 1, 2018, The Eli & Edythe Broad Stage, Santa Monica CA

Fri, Mar 30, 2018, Artist to Artist, Maui Arts & Cultural Center, Kahului HI

 

2017 – Legends: Keola Beamer and Henry Kapono

Thurs, Sept 14, 2017, Blue Note Hawai’I, Honolulu HI

Thurs, Oct 10, 2017, Valdez Civic Center,  Valdez AK

Fri, Oct 13, 2017, Discovery Theater, Anchorage AK

 

2017 – Keola Beamer and Jeff Peterson with Moanalani Beamer

Thurs, Mar 16, 2017, The Center for the Arts, Grass Valley CA

Fri, Mar 17, 2017, Carriage House Theater, Montalvo Arts Center, Saratoga CA

Sat, Mar 18, 2017, Robinson Theater, Shannon Center, Whittier College, Whittier CA

Mon, Mar 20, 2017, Belly Up Tavern, Solana Beach CA

Wed, Mar 22, 2017, Musical Instrument Museum, Phoenix AZ

Thurs, Mar 23, 2017, The John G Shedd Institute, Eugene OR

Fri, Mar 24, 2017, Aladdin Theater, Portland OR

Sat, Mar 25, 2017, Edmonds Center for the Arts, Edmonds WA

Sun, Mar 26, 2017, Lincoln Theatre, Mt Vernon WA

Thurs, Mar 30, 2017, Dakota Jazz Club and Restaurant, Minneapolis MN

Fri, Mar 31, 2017, Szold Hall, Chicago IL

Sat, Apr 1, 2017, Unitarian Universalist Congregation of York, York PA

The Beauty of Mauna Kea, with hula by Moanalani Beamer

Makee ‘Ailana

Ku’u Home O Kahalu’u

Photos: Kaliko Beamer-Trapp

Keola Beamer & Jeff Peterson, with Moanalani Beamer  – Touring in 2018-19

Keola Beamer is a Hawaiian legend who has stretched the boundaries of slack key guitar music while remaining true to the soul of its deeply Hawaiian roots. Says Willie Nelson, “There’s no better slack key player than Beamer.” Jeff Peterson is a star of the next generation, his refined style recently awarded by the Native Arts & Cultures Foundation.

Together, they present an evening of superb guitar, accompanied by Beamer’s rich and soulful vocals, as they explore the beauty of Hawaiian music as it reflects its native land and the range of Hawai‘i’s many cultural influences. Their styles feature the complexity of technique that has shaped the distinctively resonant sounds of Hawaiian slack key guitar or ki-ho‘alu, with playing that encompasses classical and jazz guitar as well. They are joined by lovely hula dancer Moanalani Beamer, whose style reflects the long hula lineage of the Beamer family.

Tour Schedule

Keola Beamer & Jeff Peterson with Moanalani Beamer

Mon, Oct 8, 2018, The Hult Center for the Performing Arts, Eugene OR
Arts Northwest Juried Showcase – Arts NW Attendees Only

Tues, Oct 9, 2018, Alberta Rose Theatre, Portland OR
8:00 PM
http://albertarosetheatre.com

Sun, Oct 14, 2018, Columbia City Theater, Seattle WA
Presented by Brown Rock LLC
2 Shows – 4 PM and 7 PM
https://www.ticketfly.com/purchase/event/1764374

Thurs, Oct 18, 2018, Harris Center for the Arts, Folsom CA
7:30 PM
http://www.harriscenter.net

Sat, Oct 20, 2018, The Old Steeple, Ferndale CA
Presented by Ferndale Music Company
7:30 PM
http://www.ferndalemusiccompany.com

Sun, Oct 21, 2018, Blue Note Napa, Napa CA
6:00 PM
http://www.bluenotenapa.com

Wed, Oct 24, 2018, Musical Instrument Museum, Phoenix AZ
7:00 PM
http://www.themim.org

Fri, Oct 26, 2018, Daniels Hall, Denver CO
Presented by Swallow Hill Music
8:00 PM
http://www.swallowhillmusic.org

 

Past Tour Dates

Info goes here

Info goes hereInfo goes hereInfo goes hereInfo goes here

Pua Lililehua/He Punahele

Honolulu City Lights

AWARD-WINNING PERFORMERS FROM HAWAI’I AND THE PACIFIC